Connect with us

What hidden non-vegan ingredients lurk in your food?

Blog

What hidden non-vegan ingredients lurk in your food?

Ever pick up a product and check the ingredients only to see a long list of incomprehensible gobbledygook? How will you ever know if it’s vegan or not? 

Hidden non vegan ingredients in food

You can always spot a vegan in a supermarket, they’re the one who is going from product to product, reading every label, checking the usual long list of ingredients for potential animal derived inclusions. If you want to become a professional label checker then it’s important to know what you are looking for as not all the ingredients will be familiar. Here is a list of ingredients that are a definite ‘no no’ when working out if a product is vegan or not. 

List of Hidden Non Vegan Ingredients

  • Albumen/Albumin – typically from eggs
  • Aspic – alternative to gelatine but made from meat, fish, stock and gelatine
  • Beeswax (E901) – made from the honeycomb of a beehive
  • Carmine/Cochineal – a food colouring made by crushing a beetle
  • Casein – from milk
  • Cod liver oil – check those vitamins & supplements
  • Collagen – used in cosmetics, but taken from the skin, bones and connective tissues of many animals
  • Elastin – similar to collagen, derived from cows
  • Gelatine/Gelatin – found in products from baked goods to sweets, a product made by boiling animal parts
  • Honey – made by bees. Find out why it isn’t vegan here
  • Isinglass – or fish bladder, used in the filtering/fining process for wine and beer 
  • Keratin – made using the skin, bones and tissues of many animals
  • Lactose – from milk
  • Lanolin (E913) – found in many cosmetics, from the oil glands of sheep and extracted from wool 
  • Lard/Tallow – animal fat, found in cooking and even money
  • Pepsin – from the stomachs of pigs, a clotting agent used in vitamins
  • Propolis – bees use it in the making of their hives
  • Royal Jelly – used as a remedy, bees secrete this from their throat glands
  • Shellac – used in waxing fruit & veg, taken from beetle secretion 
  • Vitamin D3 – made with lanolin (see above) or fish oil, found in cosmetics. ‘Lichen’ is the vegan alternative
  • Whey – found in so many products from crisps to baked goods but comes from dairy

Please note that there are many more ingredients that could be non-vegan, always check and double check or simply look for the Vegan logo.

Feeling skint? Why not check out our guide to Eating Vegan Food When You Are Broke

 

 

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Blog

VFUK Shop

Shop
To Top